Licensing & Permits

businesslicenseAnnual Report

Each year business owners must file an Annual Report in order to maintain a�?good standinga�? with the Colorado Secretary of State. The fee is $10 if filed online or $100 if a paper filing.

If the business fails to file this report in a timely manner, the business can fall into 3 different categories:

  • Noncompliant a�� simply tardy and may file annual report but must also pay $40 penalty
  • Delinquent a�� late and must file statement curing delinquency (fee is $100 if filed online)
  • Administratively Dissolved a�� venture terminated by the state (consult attorney for options)

Changes to Articles of Organization or Incorporation

If a legal name change warrants or if additional shares need to be authorized then file online Articles of Amendment. Link:

However, change address or named registered agent with Annual Report rather than with Statement of Change or Statement of Correction to save multiple fee assessments.

Trade Name

Registered trade name is required if holding business out under a different name than organized or incorporated as. Link:

Professional and Contractor Licensing

Certain professions and careers require a license to do what you do. Contact the Colorado Dept of Regulatory Agencies (DORA) for more information. Note, if you have a license individually, your business may need one too. Link:

Establishment Licensing

Certain establishments require local licensing to permit your business to operate. Contact your city, county and state licensing boards to determine who is subject to licensing and what is required to be submitted. Links:

Home Occupation Permit

If you operate your business out of your home, you may need to file a home occupation permit with the appropriate city and remit applicable annual fee (Fort Collins is $25).

Closing Doors and Dissolving

General advice to business owners is to be proactive rather than reactive with the appropriate government agencies.

  • Secretary of State
  • Colorado Dept of Revenue
  • Colorado Dept of Labor
  • Internal Revenue Service
    • Check a�?finala�? box on Form 1065, 1120S or 1120
    • Check box on Line 16 of Form 941 a�� business has close
    • Check box (d – final) on Form 940 a�� business closed
  • Larimer County & Weld County
    • File final Commercial PPD schedule or contact county
    • Contact county to close sales tax account
  • City of Fort Collins & City of Loveland
    • Contact city to close sales tax account

Caveat – Please contact your legal, business and tax advisors to determine appropriate compliance with federal, state and local law and related filing requirements for your particular business.

Disclaimer – Advice, instruction and forms provided above are for illustrative purposes only and are offered as a public service without representation or warranty and is not intended or written to be used, and cannot be used, for the purposes of constructing unlawful acts under federal and state law or avoiding penalty under the internal revenue code.